EMS Prize

The EMS prize awarded to young researchers not older than 35 years in recognition of excellent contributions in Mathematics. Ten prizes are presented every four years at the ECM. Here is a list of the past winners. The endowing organization of EMS Prize is Foundation Compositio Mathematica. The monetary value of the prize is 5000 Euro. The winners will be invited to deliver lectures at 6ECM.
The prize committee is appointed by the EMS. It consists of about fifteen internationally recognized mathematicians covering a large variety of fields. Chair of the Prize Committee is Frances Kirwan, University of Oxford, UK - the members will be known at the opening of the Congress.

Call for Nominations of Candidates for Ten EMS Prizes

Principal Guidelines

Any European mathematician who has not reached his/her 35th birthday on 30 June 2012, and who has not previously received the prize, is eligible for an EMS Prize at 6ecm. Up to 10 prizes will be awarded. The maximum age may be increased by up to three years in the case of an individual with a broken career pattern.
Mathematicians are defined to be European if they are of European nationality or their normal place of work is within Europe. Europe is defined to be the union of any country or part of a country which is geographically within Europe or that has a corporate member of the EMS based in that country. Prizes are to be awarded for work accepted for publication before 31 October 2011.

Nominations for the Award

The Prize Committee is responsible for the evaluation of nominations. Nominations can be made by anyone, including members of the Prize Committee and candidates themselves. It is the responsibility of the nominator to provide all relevant information to the Prize Committee, including a résumé and documentation. The nomination for each award must be accompanied by a written justification and a citation of about 100 words that can be read at the award ceremony. The prizes cannot be shared.

Description of the Award

The award comprises a certificate including the citation and a cash prize of 5000 Euro.

Award Presentation

The prizes will be presented at the Sixth European Congress of Mathematics by the President of the European Mathematical Society. The recipients will be invited to present their work at the congress.

Prize Fund

The money for the Prize Fund is offered by the Foundation Compositio Mathematica.

Deadline for Submission

Nominations for the prize must reach the chairman of the Prize Committee at the following address, not later than November 1, 2011:

Professor Frances Kirwan FRS
Balliol College, Oxford OX1 3BJ, UK