Otto Neugebauer Prize

The Otto Neugebauer Prize in the History of Mathematics is a new EMS prize established, with Springer Verlag as the endowing organization. The prize will be awarded for a specific piece of work, which could be a book or an article, and so it could be split between co-authors. The monetary value of the prize is 5000 Euro. The winner will be invited to deliver lectures at 6ECM. The first awarding of the Neugebauer Prize will be at the 6ECM!

Otto Neugebauer (1899-1990)
Otto Eduard Neugebauer was an Austrian-American mathematician and historian of science who became known for his research on the history of mathematics, astronomy and the other exact sciences in antiquity and into the Middle Ages. He founded the journal Quellen und Studien zur Geschichte der Mathematik, Astronomie und Physik, the review journal Zentralblatt für Mathematik und ihre Grenzgebiete and also, after having escaped from Nazi Germany, Mathematical Reviews.

The Prize Committee:   Chair - Jeremy Gray  (Open University, UK),  Lennart Berggren (Simon Fraser University, Canada), Jesper Lützen (University of Copenhagen, Denmark), Jeanne Peiffer (CNRS, France) and Catriona Byrne (Springer Verlag).

Call for Nominations of Candidates for The Otto Neugebauer Prize for the History of Mathematics

Principal Guidelines
The Prize is to be awarded for highly original and influential work in the field of history of mathematics that enhances our understanding of either the development of mathematics or a particular mathematical subject in any period and in any geographical region. The prize may be shared by two or more researchers if the work justifying it is the fruit of collaboration between them.
For the purposes of the prize, history of mathematics is to be understood in a very broad sense. It reaches from the study of mathematics in ancient civilisations to the development of modern branches of mathematical research, and it embraces mathematics wherever it has been studied in the world. In terms of the Mathematics Subject Classification it covers the whole spectrum of item 01Axx (History of mathematics and mathematicians). Similarly, there are no geographical restrictions on the origin or place of work of the prize recipient. All methodological approaches to the subject are acceptable.

Nominations for the Award
The right to nominate one or several laureates is open to anyone. Nominations are confidential; a nomination should not be made known to the nominee(s). Self-nominations are not acceptable. It is the responsibility of the nominator to provide all relevant information to the Prize Committee, including a CV and a description of the candidate’s work motivating the nomination, together with names of specialists who may be contacted.

Description of the Award
The award comprises a certificate including the citation and a cash prize of 5000 Euro

Award Presentation
The prize will be presented at the Sixth European Congress of mathematics by the President of the European Mathematical Society. The recipient will be invited to present his or her work at the congress.

Prize Fund
The money for the Prize Fund is offered by Springer Verlag

Deadline for Submission
Nominations for the prize should be addressed to the chairman of the Prize Committee, Professor Jeremy Gray (Open University, England). The nomination letter must reach the EMS office at the following address, not later than December 31, 2011:

EMS Secretariat
Ms. Terhi Hautala
Department of Mathematics & Statistics
P.O.Box 68 (Gustaf Hällströmink. 2b)
00014 University of Helsinki